What religions don’t eat pork?

In this article, we are going to answer what religions don’t eat pork, what is defined as a religion, what is pork meat, why Muslims don’t eat pork, why Jewish do not eat pork, and what happens if you eat pork in a religion that does not permit it, and what other food is not permitted in some religions.

What religions don’t eat pork?

The main two religions that do not eat pork are Islam and Judaism. Buddhism does not specify that pork should not be eaten but it is preferable to be vegetarian and refrain from all types of meat such as beef, pork, chicken, or fish. 

Sikhism does not prohibit any meat but people who live in temples must be Lacto-vegetarian and each person decides what meat is prohibited. 

What is defined as a religion?

According to the dictionary, religion is a human being’s relation that is regarded as holy, sacred, spiritual, divine, or worthy of special reverence. It has a lot to do with how people deal with concerns about their lives and what happens after death. The most common religions around the world include

  • Baha’i
  • Buddhism
  • Christianity
  • Confucianism
  • Hinduism
  • Islam
  • Jainism
  • Judaism
  • Rastafarianism
  • Sikhism
  • Taoism
  • Traditional African religions

What is pork meat?

Pork is the culinary name that is usually used to refer to the meat of domestic pigs. Pork meat can be eaten as pork meat or as a pork subproduct. Pork products can be bought in different presentations and they can also be mixed with some other proteins such as beef, chicken, turkey, or veil. Some pork products include

  • Fresh pork chop
  • Fresh ground pork
  • Fresh pork shoulder
  • Fresh pork loin
  • Pork Sausage
  • Pork ham 
  • Smoked pork products

Why do Muslims not eat pork?

The most common answer is that the lord has prohibited the eating of pork and other types of unclean meat such as some fish, birds, some mammals, and other creatures. Islams should only eat Halal as directed in the Quran. 

Food prohibited for Muslims in the Islam religion is haram, which means that food marked as haram in the Quran is forbidden. The only way a Muslim can eat pork is if you are starving and is the only thing you can eat. 

This doesn’t mean that pork is dirty meat but for their religion, pork meat is impure, unhealthy, and harmful because of bacteria, fat, and toxins that are in pig meat. 

Muslims can not eat pork meats or any subproduct made with pork, even gelatin obtained from pork. All meats they eat must be Halal, meaning they have a specific way animals have been killed.

Why Jewish do not eat pork?

According to the Jewish religion, the bible requires animals to be kosher. Jewish can’t eat pork because it is not considered kosher.  Kosher laws are very complex and extensive but the main intention of these laws is to maintain food as healthy and sacred as it can. 

Specifically, the Torah states that all kosher mammals are those that chew their ruminants or cud and are cloven-hoofed. Some examples of kosher meats that can be eaten by Jewish includes

  • Addax
  • Antelope
  • Bison
  • Cow
  • Deer
  • Gazelle
  • Giraffe
  • Goat
  • Ibex
  • Sheep

All meat and poultry require a certain way of slaughtering and preparation to keep it kosher. 

What happens if you eat pork in a religion that does not permit it?

If Muslims or Jewish eat pork intentionally it is marked as a sin in their religion. It is more a personal decision to follow according to your religion and how spiritual you want to make your life around Islam or Judaism. 

So bottom line, there is no specific punishment but is more of a personal choice depending on how religious a person is. 

What other food is not permitted in some religions?

Some religions have food restrictions depending on their beliefs. Some restrictions include

  • In the Baha’i religion, alcohol is prohibited. 
  • In Buddhism it is preferable that you choose a vegetarian diet. 
  • In Hinduism, all meats are forbidden such as eggs, fish, meat, or poultry, and vegetarian diets are preferred. Alcohol is also prohibited. 
  • Mormons are prohibited to drink alcohol, tobacco, coffee, and non herbal teas

If you need more information about other restrictions depending on the religion follow this link. 

Conclusion

This article answered what religions don’t eat pork, what is defined as a religion, what is pork meat, why Muslims don’t eat pork, why Jewish do not eat pork, and what happens if you eat pork in a religion that does not permit it, and what other food is not permitted in some religions.

Citation

https://www.chapman.edu/campus-life/fish-interfaith-center/_files/religious-dietary-restrictions.pdf

https://www.scirp.org/journal/paperinformation.aspx?paperid=85479

https://oukosher.org/the-kosher-primer/

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment