What religion can’t eat pork?

In this brief guide, we’ll address the query: “What religion can’t eat pork?” Also, we’ll explore why pork may be prohibited in some religions, and what meats these religions do allow consumption of. 

What religion can’t eat pork? 

Several religions discourage the consumption of pork, namely, Judaism, Islamic, the seventh-day Adventist church, Shafardinism, and some orthodox churches. 

Other religions, in which pork consumption is frowned upon, along with all other types of meat, include Buddhism, Hinduism, Sikhism, and Jain Dharma.  

The reasons why will vary, along with their tenets and other written laws. 

However, it’s important to note that while some individuals may have been brought up under these religious views, they may not be strict practitioners, and they may possibly lean more towards secularism. 

Why is pork prohibited in some religions? 

Pork may be prohibited for varying reasons, according to the religion’s specific set of beliefs.  

Abrahamic religions may regard pork as unclean or otherwise unfit for consumption. For example, Judaism prohibits the consumption of pork, because the animal does not chew the cud (it is not a ruminant), and therefore it contradicts God’s law. 

In Islamic beliefs, pork is regarded as haram, because it is not a hygienic animal; its omnivorous tendencies mean that it has little qualms in eating slop, bits of meat, and other things that may be regarded as waste. Additionally, pigs lounge in mud and may dwell in their excrement, furthering their reputation as unclean animals. 

In vegetarian religions, the main reason why pork (and all other types of meat) are eschewed may be because it goes against their principles that say that no living being should be harmed or that animal slaughter extracts resources from the planet, and is therefore destructive, 

What meats do these religions allow consumption of? 

Some religions that profess vegetarianism don’t condone the consumption of any type of meat, while some others may encourage their believers to make their own choices, bearing in mind that vegetarianism has a lower impact on the environment and that they should live simply (as is the case with Sikhism) 

Judaism allows for the consumption of mutton, beef, poultry, goat meat, venison, and some types of fish, namely, those with scales and fins, as these are deemed kosher by their holy texts. 

In the case of meat procured from ruminants, only cuts, and portions that have been sourced from the forequarters can be consumed. 

Meat sourced from birds of prey, monogastric animals (rabbits and horses), bush meat, shellfish, and mollusks, is strictly prohibited by Jewish tenets. 

Judaism has a distinct set of rules that instructs followers on what pairings and what processes are allowed and should be followed. 

The Islamic faith maintains that halal meats (those deemed fit for consumption) are those which are both permitted and slaughtered in observance of God’s law, usually, by reciting a prayer and a dedication. Kosher may have a similar ritual-like aspect, but it differs from halal practices. 

In Islam, beef, chicken, turkey, venison, goat meat, fish, shellfish, and other types may be deemed halal, if they’re slaughtered with proper rites.  

Characteristically, halal meat must be felled by exsanguination (bleeding out). Animals may be stunned, so long as the blow is not lethal and the animal can be bled out by the slaughterman. 

In both the Jewish faith and Islam, as much blood as possible should be drained or otherwise removed from the meat, as it is considered impure. 

In the case of the Islamic faith, some offal consumption is also considered unbefitting and is forbidden. 

Offal that Islam does permit includes the heart, the intestines, the liver, and the brain.

In actuality, many processed types of meat are prepared with these designations in mind to broaden their market and appeal to stringent consumers. As a result, shoppers may encounter kosher and halal sausages, ham, and other preserves that are sourced from permitted animals and portions, such as beef and poultry. 

However, it’s important to be aware that while some individuals may subscribe to these faiths, how stringent they are following when following tenets is a personal decision.  


In this brief guide, we have addressed the query: “What religion can’t eat pork?” Also, we have explored why pork may be prohibited in some religions, and what meats these religions do allow consumption of. 










Leave a Comment