What can you eat for lent?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “what can you eat for lent?”. We will also talk more about what Lent tradition is, how long it lasts, and when it starts and finishes every year.

What can you eat for lent?

The lent is observed by people of all ages except children under the age of 14. During Lent, on Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, and all other Fridays, eating meat is prohibited.  During this time period, it is not acceptable to eat lamb, chicken, beef, pork, ham, deer, or any other meat variety.

However, eggs, milk, fish, grains, and fruits are allowed. There are a few exceptions where these rules do not apply. Pregnant women, elderly people, and people going through medications are exempt from the Lent rules of fasting.

People during Lent, on other days also reduce their meals and the frequency of eating and abstain from snacks. People only eat one regular meal and two smaller meals during Lent compared to two regular meals and frequent snacking during normal times.

Many people give up something for the entire lent period. Some people give up their favourite snacks, while others give up their habits such as watching TV. This sort of sacrifice is called Lenten Sacrifice.

What is lent?

Lent is 40 days of prayers, reading scriptures, giving alms, fasting, and practising self-control to prepare for the celebration of Easter. Lent starts on Ash Wednesday and finishes three days before Easter Sunday.

Lent is observed by all Christians be they Catholics or Protestants with few rule changes depending on the church.

Why is Lent observed for 40 days?

Let is observed for 40 days not including Sundays starting on Ash Wednesday and finishing 3 days before Easter Sunday.

There is a cultural explanation for the 40 days of fasting since the Hebrews spent 40 years in the wilderness before reaching the land promised to them by God. Also it is said that Moses fasted for 40 days before receiving the 10 commandments on Mount Sinai.

It is said that Jesus Christ spent 40 days and 40 nights fasting in the wilderness in preparation for his ministry.

The 40 days of Lent are observed for self-reflection, simplicity, and honesty and people sacrifice something that is hard for them to leave which is called Lenten sacrifice.

Are Sundays included in Lent?

Sundays are not included in Lent as Sunday is the day of Christ’s Resurrection and is always a feast day. Therefore, fasting on Sundays has always been forbidden.

Does Lent start and finish on the exact dates every year?

Lent lasts for exactly 46 days since Sundays are not included in the 40 days of fasting and absenteeism. Lent starts 46 days before Easter Sunday. The dates of Lent always depend upon the day Easter is that year.

Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the full moon that occurs on the spring equinox. The week before Easter Sunday is called the Holy Week. The Christian church calendars claim that the spring Equinox always falls on the 21st of March every year. 

When does lent end?

Lent ends three days before Easter Sunday. The week before Easter Sunday is called the Holy Week, and it is a big deal in Christian churches. 

The Holy Week begins on Palm Sunday, which commemorates Jesus’s triumphant arrival in Jerusalem, where he received palm branches at his feet,

Then comes Holy Wednesday, which acknowledges Judan’s plan to betray Jesus. The day after Holy Wednesday is Maundy Thursday, which commemorates the Last Supper between Jesus and his disciples. Maundy Thursday is the last day of Lent.

How to break fast during Lent?

Lenten supper is a meal that is eaten in the evenings during Lent to break the day’s fast, which is widely observed by the members of the catholic, Lutheran, Moravian, Anglican, Methodist, reformed, and Protestant traditions.

Lenten suppers occur daily from Mondays through Saturdays at the sunset in a communal context if the family is observing all forty days of Lent through fasting. A mealtime prayer is always offered before Christians partake in the Lenten supper.

Given the lenten focus on sacrifice, abstinence, and simplicity, Lenten suppers are plain and simple and consist of vegetables, fruits, nuts, eggs, and dairy. Eating meat of any variety is forbidden during this forty-day Lenten period.


In this brief guide, we answered the query, “what can you eat for lent?”. We also talked more about what Lent tradition is, how long it lasts, and when it starts and finishes every year.

I hope you find this blog useful. If you have any questions, please let us know.




What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment