Is chicken halal?

In this brief guide, we’ll address the search query: “Is chicken halal?” Also, we’ll explore what halal means, what foods are halal, what foods are not halal, and review some basic outlines of the procedure that makes food halal. 

Is chicken halal? 

Yes, chicken is halal. Because chicken is permitted by Islamic law, which is stipulated in the Koran, it is therefore deemed permissible to eat.

This applies to chicken in many variations. Many retailers and meat processing factors take measures to establish that meat is halal, and can therefore be purchased and consumed by followers of Islamic tenets. 

In some countries, certain organizations that monitor and provide education about halal practices help determine which companies process meat in accordance with the rites and guidelines established by their holy book. 

For example, in the UK, this is done by the HFA, A nonprofit organization by its own statement is involved in supervision inspection auditing certification, and compliance of principles not just in meat packaging but also in the processing of other foods and beverages.

What does halal mean? 

The word halal means permissible, and in the context of food, may be used interchangeably with lawful. 

Food that is halal has been sourced, processed, and distributed in accordance with the law established in the Koran. 

This law extends not just to food, but also other substances such as medications, and illicit drugs, the latter of which is deemed as haram–the opposite of halal, and by extension, not permitted. 

The verses in the Qu’ran determine what is and what isn’t permitted, as in many Islamic countries, the holy text is also the constitution, though, in Western countries, followers of Islamic tenets may also feel inclined to follow the teachings and observe the stipulated limitations. 

What foods are halal? 

Foods that are halal include meat such as beef, mutton, and poultry. Fish is also permitted, though the teachings maintain that it should only be eaten if it has scales. 

Animal by-products that are sourced from cattle and sheep are also permissible, such as milk. 

Eggs are also permitted, so long as they are sourced from permissible fowl. 

In addition, grains, vegetables and fruits, and their derived products are permitted, so long as they don’t cause intoxication. 

What foods are not halal? 

Foods that are not halal include those that are prepared with alcohol, lard, pure or artificial vanilla extract, and those foods made with glycerides derived from animal fat. 

Meat products that are strictly haram include pork and all its derived products such as ham, bacon, sausages, lard, meat, and poultry that have not been slain observing the necessary rites, processed foods containing these meats and products, and food made with offal, or pork products. 

Alcohol is also strictly haram, along with animal shortening, broth, rennet, whey (when not purified with microbes), and gelatin. Game meat is also forbidden, along with shellfish. 

How is food made halal? 

Food can be made halal (permissible) if it requires slaughtering and processing. 

This mostly applies to meat products, and animals, from which halal meat is sourced, must be slaughtered observing the necessary guidelines. This means that they must receive a cut to their throat that will sever blood flow in the arteries in their neck and their windpipe. 

This form of slaughter is known as dhabiha. Only healthy animals must undergo this procedure, as they’re the only ones deemed halal. 

Stunning may be carried out, so long as it is not fatal, and the animal can be slaughtered while observing the ritual process. 

Companies that wish to certify their produce as halal can apply to organizations and receive a proposal, in which the halal-certification process can be introduced into their practices. 

Audits may be conducted, and products can either be approved or unapproved, in which case, companies can reapply for halal certification. 

The process has many fine details and is closely inspected by the nonprofit organization that issues the certification, though many consumers, especially those who follow Islamic tenets, will opt for certified-halal products. 


In this brief guide, we’ve addressed the search query: “Is chicken halal?” Also, we’ve explored what halal means, what foods are halal, what foods are not halal, and reviewed some basic outlines of the procedure that makes food halal. 


Leave a Comment