Does subway have gluten-free bread?

In this short article, we will answer the question “Does subway have gluten-free bread?” and will show you information that will make you able to recognise which products have gluten or not.

Does subway have gluten-free bread?

Yes, but not all subway restaurants offer gluten-free bread. So you must call the restaurant and inform yourself if they have before coming into the restaurant.

What products is Subway gluten-free?

In addition to offering gluten-free bread in some locations, Subway also carries a selection of sandwich meats. However, Subway does not currently offer a gluten-free menu.

The restaurant claims that because its “meats” and sandwich ingredients are made on shared equipment, it is unable to ensure that any menu item is gluten-free in its entirety.

For the most up-to-date information on ingredients, please see Subway’s allergen chart, and be sure to ask inside since menu items and ingredients are subject to change.

Sandwich “meats” that don’t contain gluten components as of July 2021 (but could still have cross contamination) include:

  • bacon slices
  • Omelette made of egg white
  • Chicken patty that has been baked
  • Italian salami
  • Chicken pepperoni grilled
  • combos of cold-cut meats
  • Italian flavoured sausages
  • barbecued chicken with buffalo sauce
  • Chicken prepared in a rotisserie
  • Ham (Black Forest)
  • BMT Meats’ Italian veggie patties (ham, pepperoni, salami)
  • Roasted turkey breast in the oven
  • Pastrami
  • Tuna salad
  • Steak

The only two “types of meat” that contain gluten are Meatballs with Marinara and Grilled Chicken with Teriyaki Sauce.

What is gluten, exactly?

Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, rye, malt, and barley that, when combined with water, forms a kind of gel that acts as a kind of glue and ensures increased elasticity in meals like bread, pasta, and cookies.

People without celiac disease, allergies, or intolerance to this protein can freely consume foods containing gluten because it is a vegetable protein and is found in cereals that are healthy sources of fibre.

But those who have celiac disease, gluten allergies, or gluten intolerance cannot properly digest these kinds of meals and may have symptoms like bloating, diarrhoea, and weight loss.

What is the food that contains gluten?

All foods that can be prepared with wheat, barley, malt, or rye contain gluten, including crackers, cakes, cookies, bread, toast, beers, pasta, and pizza dough, for instance.

A balanced diet typically contains a lot of wheat-based items, which results in the consumption of substantial amounts of gluten. As a result, some people see benefits in their health when they cut back on gluten, especially when it comes to bowel function balance. Additionally, since malt and barley are used to make beverages like beer and whiskey, gluten is present in them as well. View a list of additional foods that include gluten.

What are the food products that are free of gluten?

The majority of foods that don’t contain gluten are:

  • veggies and fruits;
  • legumes, such as lentils, beans, soybeans, or chickpeas;
  • grains, including rice, quinoa, amaranth, corn, and products made from these grains;
  • Tubers like yam, cassava, potato, and potato starch
  • proteins from meat, poultry, eggs, tofu, and seafood
  • sweets like ice cream, jellies, sugar, chocolate, and cocoa;
  • seasonings like basil, oregano, thyme, and salt;
  • fats including flax, pumpkin, and chia seeds, as well as butter, coconut oil, and olive oil.
  • You can consume these dishes and other items made solely of these components, such as potato starch cake, cornbread, or bread made with chickpea flour.

People with celiac disease, allergies, or intolerances to this protein can consume processed goods that have the information “gluten-free” on the label since they do not contain this protein.

When is it vital to follow a diet that excludes gluten?

Only those who experience some sort of reaction to gluten consumption, such as those with celiac disease (CD) or gluten sensitivity, need to follow a stringent diet, which fully excludes gluten from food.

Gluten restriction is not related to any health benefits, according to research, thus those who do not have celiac disease or an intolerance to it do not need to cut it out of their diet. 

It is also vital to make up for this loss of fibre by eating meals like vegetables, fruits, and grains since they are food sources of fibre.

Conclusion:

In this short article, we answered the question “Does subway have gluten-free bread?” and have shown you information that will make you able to recognise which products have gluten or not.

References:

https://www.goodforyouglutenfree.com/subway-gluten-free/#:~:text=According%20to%20the%20Subway%20website,a%20six%2Dinch%20option%20only.

Leave a Comment