Do vegans eat chocolate?

In this article we are going to answer: do vegans eat chocolate, what are vegans, what is chocolate, what makes chocolate not vegan, what are the benefits of eating vegan chocolate, what vegans eat, and what is the risk of following a vegan diet.

Do vegans eat chocolate?

Yes, vegans do eat Chocolate that does not contain milk or any type of whey or milk protein. Such chocolate is considered vegan and can be eaten safely by vegans. But not all chocolate can be eaten by vegans; there is a huge amount of chocolates on the market that are considered vegan.

What are vegans?

Vegans are a group of people that follow a vegan diet. A vegan diet is known as a type of diet that excludes all types of animal products such as eggs, dairy, meat, fish, seafood, poultry, honey, or any products derived from animals. 

Not everyone follows the same vegan diet. Some types of vegan diets are:

  • Raw Vegan Diet
  • Gluten-Free Vegan Diet
  • Fruitarian Vegan Diet
  • Whole-food Vegan Diet
  • Junk-food Vegan Diet
  • Paleo Vegan Diet
  • Freegan Diet

What is chocolate?

Chocolate is defined as a sweet candy that is made from cocoa beans that come from the Theobroma cacao tree which is native to South America and South Mexico. Chocolate is usually used for sweets, candy, ice cream, cookies, and desserts. 

Roasted and toasted cacao beans are known as

  • Cocoa is the solids of the cacao bean
  • Cocoa butter is the fat
  • Chocolate is a combination of solids and fat 
  • Dark chocolate 
  • Unsweetened chocolate
  • Semisweet chocolate
  • Bittersweet chocolate
  • Couverture
  • Milk chocolate 
  • White chocolate 

What makes chocolate not vegan?

Chocolate with milk or dairy products makes chocolate not vegan. Dark chocolate is usually made with just chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, lecithin, sugar, and vanilla. It usually lacks any type of addition of dairy products. 

Milk chocolate and white chocolate are out of boundaries for vegans. Milk chocolate is made with chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, lecithin, sugar, vanilla, milk fats, and milk solids. While the white chocolate is made with a very small amount of cocoa solids and a huge amount of dairy products. 

What are the benefits of eating vegan chocolate? 

Dark chocolate or vegan chocolate is the healthiest chocolate you can eat from all the variety of chocolates found on the market. Dark chocolate has a very high amount of antioxidants, and healthy fats and has a very small amount of sugar. 

Some health benefits you can obtain from vegan or dark chocolate, 70% or higher, including

  • A high amount of nutrients especially copper, manganese, magnesium, and iron. 
  • A very high amount of antioxidants.
  • Improve flood flow and lower blood pressure.
  • Increase good cholesterol and decrease bad cholesterol.
  • Reduce the risk of heart disease.
  • Improves brain function

What do vegans eat?

When you choose a vegan diet you have to exclude all types of animal products from your diet. A vegan diet is based on the following food groups without restriction

  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Legumes
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Whole grain bread, rice, and pasta
  • Dairy alternatives
  • Healthy vegetable oils such as olive oil and avocado.

What is the risk of following a vegan diet?

When you choose a vegan diet you are more at risk for certain nutrient deficiencies such as vitamin B12 deficiency, omega 3 fatty acids, vitamin D, calcium, and iron deficiency. If left untreated, they can lead to some health complications that can worsen with time. Health complications include

  • Anemia
  • Depression because of low omega-3 fatty acids
  • Menstrual cycle irregularities
  • Infertility
  • Hormone disruptions
  • Low-calorie intake
  • Muscle mass loss

Even if plant-based diets are considered healthier they need to be followed by a specialist in the area because vegan diets need supplementation. All food groups should be added and there is no calorie restriction if you eat a healthy vegan diet. 

If you choose a vegan diet where you add too much processed or junk vegan food, there will be no health benefits. 

Conclusion

This article answered do vegans eat chocolate, what are vegans, what is chocolate, what makes chocolate not vegan, What are the benefits of eating vegan chocolate, what vegans eat, and what is the risk of following a vegan diet.

Citation

​​https://www.chocolatebar.com/do-vegans-eat-chocolate/#:~:text=With%20its%20multitude%20of%20good,answer%20is%20a%20resounding%20YES!

https://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Chocolate

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment