Can vegans eat cheese?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “can vegans eat cheese?”. We will also talk more about who vegans are, and the difference between vegans and vegetarians.

Can vegans eat cheese?

No, vegans can’t eat cheese or any other dairy products as they believe that the milking of the animals causes them to suffer and sometimes premature death or otherwise curtails animal rights.

Veganism is a strict practice and a way of life where the use of animal products in daily life for any purpose including food is completely prohibited. 

Who are vegans?

Vegans are the people who strictly follow the veganism philosophy and way of life of abstaining from any animal products in daily life including their diet. They do not include meat of any sort, dairy and dairy products including honey and gelatin in their diets.

Vegans follow a strict plant-based diet which not only improves health but also helps protect the environment and support animal welfare. A vegan lifestyle is not just limited to food, it extends into an everyday lifestyle and consumer choices.

The vegan diet includes fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, and legumes including beans, peas, and lentils. There are four types of vegans namely ethical vegans, environmental vegans, health vegans, and religious vegans.

Ethical vegans

Ethical vegans are those people who have chosen the vegan philosophy because they are strictly and firmly against animal cruelty. Ethical vegans are against not just consuming animal and animal products but also animal farming. They believe that killing to eat is wrong and all animals have an equal right to live.

Environmental vegans

Environmental vegans are another type of vegans who believe they can help reduce greenhouse emissions, minimise deforestation and reduce pollution by not supporting animal farming for food. The environmental vegans chose this way of life to help the environment and planet earth.

Health vegans

These types of vegans are the most common types who have turned to follow the vegan way of life for the benefit of their health. Individuals who have different ailments in their body like lactose intolerance or heart diseases have benefitted by following a vegan lifestyle as the vegan diet does not consist of dairy or meat which are both not very good for the body.

Religious vegans

Religious vegans are those types of vegans who have chosen this lifestyle because of their spiritual beliefs. Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism are a few religions that encourage their disciples to follow a diet free of animal products.

What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian?

There is not much difference between vegan and vegetarian diets apart from the consumption of dairy and dairy products by vegetarians.

The vegetarians also abstain from eating animal products such as meat, poultry, seafood, and eggs but would consume honey and dairy products. Vegetarians are also divided into different types according to the food they consume.

The Lacto-ovo vegetarians still include eggs and dairy in their diets but exclude meat and meat products in their diet. The ovo-vegetarians are those who only include eggs in their diet. The lacto-vegetarians are those who only consume dairy and avoid eggs and animal meat as part of their diet.

People following these flexible but still vegetarian diet practices are called flexitarians as they are flexible to add eggs and dairy to their diet in moderation. 

The vegan diet does incorporate plant-based alternatives to traditional animal-based products. The use of soy-based soy milk or almond milk derived from almonds, jackfruit, tofu, and tempeh are some examples.

What do you call a vegan who eats cheese?

Vegans who consume cheese and other dairy products such as ghee, butter, milk, and cream as part of their daily meal but still abstain from meat, as well as eggs, are called Lacto vegetarians.

Is there any vegan alternative to dairy cheese?

Vegans can indulge in eating cheese that is made from plant-based ingredients like soybeans, peas, cashews, coconut, or almonds. The most common types of vegan cheese types are cheddar, gouda, parmesan, mozzarella, and cream cheese made from non-dairy ingredients.

Soy milk, almond milk, oat milk, cashew milk, and rice milk are some alternatives for making cheeses that do not include any animal products. Other common ingredients that vegan cheese consists of are nutritional yeast, tapioca, coconut oil, spices, rice, and potatoes.

These extra ingredients are added in order to recreate the texture, consistency, taste, and aromas to that of the traditional dairy cheeses.

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we answered the query, “can vegans eat cheese?”. We also talked about who vegans are, and the difference between vegans and vegetarians.

I hope you find this blog useful. If you have any questions, please let us know.

Reference

https://www.thecheesemaker.com/blog/what-kinds-of-cheese-can-vegans-eat/#:~:text=Vegans%20can%20eat%20cheese%20that,found%20in%20non%2Ddairy%20forms.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/types-of-vegetarians#6.-Vegan-diet

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment