Can vegans eat bread?

In this brief blog, we will answer the question,”Can vegans eat bread?” We will also look at some good options of vegan breads. We will finally discuss how to replace some non-vegan ingredients in bread.

Can vegans eat bread?

Yes, vegans can eat bread that contains only the flour, yeast, salt and water because all of these ingredients are vegan friendly. 

The problem arises with other types of breads that make use of other ingredients of animal origin such as butter, milk, eggs or honey to change the texture or flavor. 

In such scenarios the bread ceases to be vegan friendly, however the basic form of bread that uses the aforementioned 4 ingredients is vegan. 

What are some types of vegan breads?

A wide variety of breads are actually vegan and free of animal products. Some common vegan breads are:

Sourdough

This is a type of fermented bread that is usually produced with flour, salt, water and occasionally makes use of baker’s yeast. However, you should be cautious because some varieties do make use of milk in replacement of water. So always make sure to check the ingredients list.

Ezekiel

This is a bread that is made using sprouted whole grains & legumes. It comes packed with high quality proteins and essential nutrients thanks to the use of the whole grains.

Pita bread

Pita is a flatbread that is usually made from a combination of flour, water, salt and yeast. It is mostly vegan, although some people might use eggs, honey, milk to infuse flavor which will automatically make it non-vegan.

Ciabatta

Ciabatta translates to slipper in Italian. Ciabatta is a rustic  flat and elongated bread which usually has a hard crust and soft, airy crumb. Many versions of it are very much vegan although one particular type, the ciabatta al latte replaces water with milk and makes it non-vegan.

Focaccia

Focaccia is an Italian unleavened flatbread which is made from a base similar to pizza dough and topped with some herbs and a source of fat. A lot of recipes make use of olive oil as the fat,making this bread vegan. However others use eggs or butter and make it non-vegan.

Kosher bread

Kosher bread is bread that has been made according to the Jewish dietary rules known as kashrut. These rules restrict mixing dairy with meat and that makes a lot of kosher bread dairy free to make room for meat toppings. Some also do not have eggs which makes them vegan.

Baguette

This is a popular type of bread originating from France that is long and thin and has this crispy crust and tender crumbs.

In essence, less processed breads tend to be vegan together with flatbreads, savory, or dry types of breads. On the other hand, fluffier brioche types of bread tend to have dairy, eggs or a mixture thus making them non-vegan.

Rye bread

Rye bread is a dense bread that is made using rye flour, water and some salt. Some recipes sometimes call for use of other ingredients such as yeast, honey or molasses to add flavor or seasonings like cumin or caraway.

Rye bread may also contain ingredients that are non-vegan such as eggs and dairy products depending on the brand that you buy from the store. Generally, rye bread is a sumptuous and nutritious bread for vegans that are looking for savory bread.

How can you replace non-vegan ingredients in bread?

Making your own bread is a good way to ensure that it is  vegan friendly. The most simple recipes to make bread are usually vegan.

You can replace non-vegan ingredients such as eggs with ingredients such as chia seeds or flax. To do this, mix 1 tablespoon equivalent to 15 mg of chia seeds or flax seeds (ground) with 3 tablespoons (45 ml) of warm water. Let the mixture sit until it develops a jelly-like consistency.

Aquafaba can also be used to replace egg whites. Chickpea aquafaba is a favorite in recipes and you can simply make it at home or just utilize the liquid from a chickpeas can.

To replace egg whites, use three tablespoons (45 ml) of aquafaba to substitute one whole egg, or two tablespoons (30 ml) to replace one egg white.

To see more vegan baking Ingredient substitutes, check here.

Conclusion

In this brief blog, we have answered the question,”Can vegans eat bread?” We have also looked at some good options of vegan breads. We have finally discussed how to replace some non-vegan ingredients in bread.

Citations

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/is-bread-vegan#substitutions

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment