Can Muslims eat pork?

In this brief guide, we will address the query, “can Muslims eat pork?” We will also discuss what is the prohibition in Islamic and Jewish law.

Can Muslims eat pork?

No, Muslims can not eat pork. The Holy Quran states so. When something should not be eaten it will be classified as haram, which means that they are forbidden for the believers of this literature.

In the Holy Quran, there is a verse that says: “Forbidden to you (for food) are dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah.” (Al-Qur’an 5:3)

But this is not the only verse that states the prohibition of pork meat, some other chapters from the Qur’an also support this behavior, such as:

  • Al-Baqarah (2:173).
  • Al-Ma’idah (5:3).
  • Al-An’am (6:145).
  • Al-Nahl (16:115).

Another theory that makes Muslims not eat pork meat is that they consider pigs as filthy animals that can carry various diseases. They say that pigs are useless to the human race.

Why are pigs considered to be filthy for Muslims?

According to what the Qur-an says, pigs can carry a lot of serious diseases to humans, this is because pigs eat pretty much anything they are given and because they tend to roll in the mud, which causes them to be seen as filthy.

Also, pork meat has high levels of fat, which can cause diverse alterations to human health. Some of the risks when eating pork is

  • Obesity.
  • Rectum cancer.
  • Colon cancer.
  • Prostate cancer.
  • Allergies.
  • Stomach ulcers.
  • Scabies.

Only when dying of starvation is permitted to eat any food considered haram, otherwise, this type of food should not be part of people’s diet.  

What type of meat can Muslims eat?

Muslims can eat most types of meat as long as they are not considered haram. Not only the ingredients can be forbidden but certain slaughtered methods also are prohibited, such as

  • Beaten to death.
  • Strangled to death.
  • Died due to falling.
  • Killed by being smitten by a horn.
  • Eaten by a wild beast.

So far, we have only talked about what you cannot eat when you follow the Muslim code, but what are the ones you can eat? 

Some of the items that you can eat when you are Muslim are

  • Fish
  • Food and birds hunted by hunting animals.

Once again, there is a certain method of slaughter that is permitted for Muslims, they must leave the spinal cord intact. Also, you need to cut the jugular veins, carotid arteries, and windpipe.

How can food be classified for Muslims?

The Muslim code is very strict when it comes to what can or can’t be eaten. So, they have classified food into four categories, which are

Muslim classification of food
LawfulForbiddenQuestionableInappropriate
HalalHaramMashboohMakruh

Vegetarian animals can be eaten.
Cheeses coagulated with acid or vegetable enzymes.
Grains.
Vinegar is not made from fermenting alcohol.
Fruits and veggies with no insects.

Flowing blood.
Pork.
Dog.
Cat.
Birds with talons.
Domesticated donkeys.
Animals that are commanded to kill.
All reptiles.






When certain food or drinks are not strictly classified as halal or haram, they should not be consumed.

This classification is less severe than haram but they need to be avoided as well.
Rotten or spoiled food.
Prawn.
Shrimp.
Crabs.

Muslims do not need to worry only about what they eat but how it was killed and prepared, it is certainly not easy to get all of the requirements that Muslims need to meet.

If you want to get further guidance on this subject, make sure you click here.

Are Muslims vegetarian?

Not necessarily, some Muslims surely can go vegetarian as plant-based food is always lawful. However, some of them can also choose to eat the allowed meat, like fish and birds, make sure you check the chart above to know what you should or shouldn’t eat.

Something that is also not permitted for Muslim people is to make some damage to the animals. They need to be treated kindly and the method of slaughter should be approved by the laws of Muslims.

As you can tell, Muslims can be restrictive when it comes to food, make sure you read more about the guidelines of this religion.

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we have addressed the query, “can Muslims eat pork?” We have also discussed what is the diet of Muslims and what restrictions are established in their law.

Hope you found this blog useful. If you have any questions, please let us know.

Citations

https://www.halalwatchworld.org/the-vegan-muslim

http://web.ipb.ac.id/~erizal/pork_reasons.html#:~:text=The%20prohibition%20of%20pork%20in,and%20non%2DMuslims%20as%20well.

https://www.thenationalnews.com/arts/ask-ali-why-pork-is-forbidden-for-muslims-1.444442

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment