Can Jewish people eat pork

In this brief guide, we will address the query, “can Jewish people eat pork?” We will also discuss what are the restrictions for Jewish people and other interesting FAQs about this subject.

Can Jewish people eat pork?

No, Jewish people cannot eat pork. Just like Muslims, pork cannot be part of these religions. Jewish people attend to the kosher classification, they cannot consume any products not considered kosher.

When it comes to meat consumption, several requirements need to be attended to consider certain food kosher. What does kosher even mean? Well, according to the Jewish dietary code when something is kosher, it means that is appropriate for your consumption.

Pork is one of the products that need to get eliminated from Jewish people’s diet, this is because they do not eat animals that do not chew their cud and do not have split hooves. As we all know, pigs do have split hooves but they do not accomplish another requirement.

What type of meat can Jewish people eat?

As we have already said, Jewish people only eat whatever is labeled as kosher, meat can also get that label. Also, the animals that can be eaten must be slaughtered according to the proper methods.

The Jewish dietary law says that certain animals can be eaten because they accomplish 2 important requirements, first, they have split hooves, and also they chew their cud. The animals that enter in this category 

  • Cows.
  • Sheep.
  • Goats.

Also, if you want to consume any dairy product, it should come from a kosher animal, otherwise, it is not appropriate to be consumed. 

The method chosen to slaughter the animal also plays an important role to determine if something is kosher or not. It is important that the Jewish laws for processing and slaughterhouse equipment are attended to.

To make sure your meat is kosher-appropriate, it is important to take into account that

  • The meat of animals that have died naturally is not kosher.
  • Certain body parts that will never be considered kosher are
  • Fat.
  • Nerves.
  • Blood.

What meat can not be eaten by Jewish people?

Jewish people should not eat meat that is not considered kosher, otherwise, they will be disrespecting the Jewish laws. Some of the prohibitions for Jewish people are

  • Pork.
  • Rabbit.
  • Horses.
  • Eagles.
  • Gulls.
  • Some cuts of beef should also be avoided, such as
  • Sirloin.
  • Shank.
  • Flank.
  • Round.

What criteria should meat have to be considered kosher?

According to the Jewish dietary law, there are several requirements that meat should meet to be kosher-friendly, let’s take a look at some of them

  • The animal should have split hooves. Just like deer, sheep, goats, and cows.
  • Domesticated fowl can be eaten, this includes geese, quail, dove, and chicken.
  • The animal should have been slaughtered by a person certified for the Jewish laws.
  • Every little trace of blood should be removed from the meat.
  • Also, the utensils should be kosher-appropriate.
  • Do not use the utensils for any other products that are not meat.

Are Jewish people vegetarian?

No, Jewish people are not all vegetarian, most of them eat meat, of course, kosher appropriate. There are no issues when it comes to eating plant-based food, they can be eaten as much as they want.

However, they also need to meet different guidelines to be considered kosher, but they are less strict than the ones for meat.

How do Jewish people classify food?

The Jewish dietary laws classify food into three different groups, which are

  • Meat (fishing). Meat can be considered kosher when it meets certain criteria, which were previously described in the sections above.
  • Dairy (milching). To consume kosher dairy products, you need to make sure that they come from kosher animals. Also, it is really important to take into consideration the equipment and utensils used to obtain them.
  • Neutral (pareve). In this category you can find all of the remaining products that are neither meat nor dairy, some of these ingredients are
  • Eggs.
  • Fish.
  • Fruits.
  • Veggies.
  • Pasta.
  • Coffee.

You can get further guidance on this subject here.

What happens if a Jew eats non-kosher food?

From what we have read now, we can conclude that Jewish dietary laws can be really strict, and some might miss one of them, at the end of the day we are humans. But what happens when this occurs?

According to the Torah, if you disrespect the kosher guidelines, you need to receive 39 lashes or an equal punishment. In recent days, this might not be as severe as you think, which is magnificent!

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we have addressed the query, “can Jewish people eat pork?” We have also discussed what are the dietary restrictions for Jewish people and some other queries related to the subject at hand.

Hope you found this blog useful. If you have any questions, please let us know.

Citations

https://www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/1452611/jewish/Why-Do-Jews-Not-Eat-Pork-or-Crab.htm

https://oukosher.org/the-kosher-primer/

https://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/kosher-food

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/what-is-kosher#plant-based-foods

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment