Are spices vegan?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Are spices vegan?”. We will also discuss the spices that are used in vegan recipes and spices that are not vegan.

Are spices vegan?

Yes, most of the spices are vegan as they are derived from the different parts of the plant including seeds, rhizomes or roots, fruits, flowers, bark, leaves, etc. These plant parts are processed into the spices that we used in our recipes everyday.

What are the spices used in vegan recipes?

Many aromatic spices can be used to enhance the flavors of vegan recipes. Let us discuss some of them below:

Turmeric 

Turmeric is the staple spice that can be used in all types of recipes whether it is vegan or meat-based. Its earthy taste and vibrant yellow color go well with most vegetable curries, stir-fries, or roasted veggies. The use of turmeric in any vegan recipe not only adds flavors to the dish but also makes it visually more appealing to taste. 

You can add a pinch of turmeric to your roasted veggies like cauliflower and potatoes for that warm peppery aroma and flavor.

Cumin 

Both cumin seeds and cumin powder are two of the most commonly used spices for vegan recipes. Cumin seeds can be used in tempered dishes, allowing the oil to soak up all the flavors and aroma of cumin. Likewise, ground cumin has a warm and earthy flavor and aroma with a hint of bitterness that goes well with vegetables like potatoes, mushrooms, and bell peppers.

Cumin is mostly used in dishes like soups, stews, curries, pickles, sauces, and chutneys. Also, no salad is complete without some cumin powder.

Cinnamon 

Cinnamon is a must-have spice for vegetarians. Cinnamon has warm, earthy, sweet flavors with a very strong aroma that goes well with both sweet as well as savory dishes. Cinnamon is well-known for its delicate and sweeter notes, which are used in a variety of baked vegan foods and beverages. You can also use cinnamon powder in vegan recipes that call for a hint of cinnamon.

Coriander 

It is another must-have spice for your vegan recipes. All parts of coriander, be it seeds, leaves, or powder, can do wonders to your plant-based recipes. It goes hand in hand with cumin in most vegetable curries, pickles, soups, and gravies. Coriander powder adds layers of flavors to your mushrooms, tofu, and paneer dishes. 

Coriander powder can spice up even bland vegetables like spinach. Coriander leaves are mostly used in vegan salad recipes and for garnishing purposes.

Black pepper

Salt and black pepper are two of the commonly used seasonings in all types of plant-based as well as meat-based recipes. The meats are normally seasoned with a variety of spices, but for vegan meals, the earthy and woody notes of black pepper are sufficient. Normally black pepper is used in powdered form, but it can also be used in crushed forms in plant-based savory dishes.

Garlic 

There are many ways of using garlic in your plant based recipes. You can add it raw as garnish, minced, powdered form or as a paste. It can be used in vegetable curries, sauces, stir fries, as well as roasted vegetables. Roasted garlic coles bring a mild, nutty, and creamy flavors to the table, while garlic powder has milder flavors. In several vegan dishes, ginger-garlic paste is used as a seasoning base.

Ginger 

The spicy, sweet, earthy, and warm flavors of ginger will make a great combination with most of the vegetables dishes. It mostly goes together with garlic. Ginger roots are chopped or made into a paste for different vegetable curries and stews in Indian, Caribbean, and Asian cuisines while the ginger powder can be used for milder flavors.

For some flavorful vegan recipes, please click the link here.

Which spices are not vegan?

Although most of the spices come from the plant parts, certain animal byproducts may be included in seasonings, spice mixes, or pastes prepared with spices. So make sure you check the ingredients used in spices are vegan-friendly before buying them from the market

For instance, animal-based components such as fish flakes, dried shrimps, and meat-based elements can be found in spice by-products. Some seasonings like anchovy paste, bonito (fish) flakes and dried shrimp are an exception.

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we have answered the query, “Are spices vegan?”. We havr also discussed the spices that are used in vegan recipes and spices that are not vegan.

Citations 

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment