Are fritos gluten-free?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Are fritos gluten-free?”. We will also talk about what fritos are, and what gluten intolerance is.

Are fritos gluten-free?

Yes, fritos are gluten-free as they do not contain any ingredient that has gluten in them fritos are made up of corn, salt, and oil and all of these ingredients do not contain gluten. 

One should be mindful that not all fritos are gluten-free. Even though they do not contain gluten in the actual ingredient but are processed with other varieties of products that may contain gluten.

Only four varieties of fritos are 100% gluten-free. They are:

  • Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips
  • Fritos Original Corn Chips
  • Fritos reduced Fat Original Corn Chips
  • Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips

What are fritos?

Fritos is a snacks brand manufactured by Frito-Lays, the parent company behind the corn chips. Frito-Lays is a very popular brand that has 29 snack brands which is part of Pepsico. The corn chips are made out of simple ingredients true to themselves.

Fritos corn chips are gluten-free and can be enjoyed in different flavors snacking on their own or can be enjoyed with a tangy salsa or a homemade dip.

What is gluten intolerance?

Gluten is a kind of protein that is prevalent in many foods especially wheat which when consumed can cause an array of issues in the digestive system such as bloating, tiredness, fatigue, nausea, and gassy in people whose bodies cannot process gluten. This phenomenon is called gluten intolerance.

Gluten intolerance is also known as non-celiac gluten sensitivity which is not the same as celiac disease or wheat allergy. Anyone can be gluten intolerant and can be born with it or develop it later in life.

People with gluten intolerance can experience the following symptoms.

  • Abdominal pain
  • Anemia
  • Anxiety
  • Fatigue
  • Depression
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Skin rash
  • Headache
  • Dairrhoea
  • Constipation
  • Bloating or gas
  • Joint pain

What are the foods to avoid if you are gluten intolerant? 

People with gluten intolerance should avoid consuming any foods that have gluten or any foods that have come in contact with gluten. The food containing wheat, rye, and barley needs to be completely avoided in order to prevent any digestive distress caused by gluten.

Gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley, rye, triticale, farina, spelt, kamut, wheat berries, farro, and couscous should be off the diet if you are gluten intolerant. Not just the grains but the food and baked goods made out of these grains should also be avoided to eat.

Many condiments and dressings also have traces of gluten in them due to having one of the gluten-containing grains as an ingredient. Soy sauce, barbecue sauce, salad dressings, marinades, cream sauces, gravy mixes, malt vinegar, ketchup, and spice blends are some condiments that have gluten-containing ingredients and should be avoided. 

Certain snacks, biscuits, cookies, and bottled drinks should also be avoided as they can have traces of gluten. If you are gluten intolerant, then it is always important to check for the labels if they are marked as ‘gluten-free’ or not. 

Many manufacturers and producers have started to label their products if they have gluten in them which is a helpful way of letting people know of the content. One should be careful that even some food items do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients in them but can contain traces of gluten as they can be manufactured or processed with gluten-containing products.

What are the foods to eat if you are gluten intolerant?

It seems that there are not many food options left for gluten intolerant people, but things are not that bad. There are many gluten-free options to enjoy which are equally delicious and healthy and won’t spike your gluten intolerance.

There are lots of grain options to choose from that are gluten-free such as quinoa, millet, sorghum, amaranth, corn, teff, rice, buckwheat, and oats. These grains and the food products made out of them are gluten-free options for gluten intolerant people to enjoy. 

Fresh fruits and vegetables are also on the menu as no fresh fruit and vegetables have any gluten content in them. Beans and legumes are also gluten-free such as lentils, peas, pinto beans, chickpeas, kidney beans, cannellini beans, and adzuki beans.

Meat, eggs, and poultry can also be consumed as they do not contain gluten. One should be careful to eat all these mentioned food items that none have been processed or been in touch with gluten-containing food items as it can cross-contaminate and symptoms can occur.

Conclusion 

In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Are fritos gluten-free?”. We also talked about what fritos are, and what gluten intolerance is.

I hope you find this blog useful. If you have any questions, please let us know.

References

https://www.fritos.com/about-us

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/gluten-food-list#foods-to-eat

 

    

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment