Are eggs dairy?

In this brief article, we will answer the question, “Are eggs dairy?” and provide information on why eggs are grouped with dairy, whether lactose intolerant individuals can eat eggs, why eggs are marked as Pareve, some benefits of eating eggs, and whether eggs are meat.

Are eggs dairy?

No, eggs are not dairy. Dairy products are food products that are obtained from the milk of animals like cows or goats. Examples of such milk products are cheese, butter, yogurt, and cream.

Eggs are not dairy as they are laid by birds like chickens, ducks, or quails. Birds do not produce milk. Eggs are often kept close to dairy products in groceries and are even grouped with them. However, eggs cannot be considered a dairy product.

Besides cows and goats are mammals that produce milk. Birds are not mammals. As a result, eggs are not dairy.

Why are eggs grouped with dairy?

Eggs are often grouped with dairy because eggs are high in protein similar to dairy and both are animal products. Vegans avoid consuming both eggs along with meat and dairy products. 

In previous food pyramids, eggs were lumped with dairy products. Sometimes, they are even lumped in the high protein category along with meat, beans, and dairy products. 

This can add to the confusion. In certain areas, eggs along with dairy products are refrigerated. This is not because they are dairy products but simply because they might need to be refrigerated.

Can lactose intolerant individuals eat eggs?

Yes, lactose intolerant individuals can eat eggs. Milk and milk products cannot be consumed as they contain lactose. The inability to digest this lactose is called lactose intolerance. However, eggs do not contain lactose.

Individuals with lactose intolerance can experience stomach cramps, flatulence, and diarrhea. Consuming eggs does not cause these symptoms.

It is important to note that individuals with an egg allergy should avoid eating eggs but can definitely consume dairy or dairy products unless they suffer from lactose intolerance too.

Why are eggs marked as Pareve?

There are certain traditions followed by Jewish people wherein Kosher foods are marked as “F” (stands for flesh product), “M” (stands for milk product), and “P” (stands for Pareve). 

Foods that are considered Pareve are neutral. This means they neither belong to milk products nor to flesh products. Hence, they can be eaten.

Pareve foods are dairy free. This means that foods that are Pareve can be consumed by individuals with milk allergy or lactose intolerance. This yet again proves that egg is not dairy. 

What are some benefits of eating eggs?

Eggs contain a variety of nutrients. One egg has 6.3 grams of protein. Apart from this, it has 147 mg of choline. Choline can be obtained as a dietary supplement. Apart from this, an egg has 63 mg of potassium.

Eggs contain vitamin A, folate, lutein, phosphorus, and zeaxanthin. Eggs also have antioxidant and anticancer properties. Antioxidants present in eggs can reduce free radicals which can help in lowering the risk of cancer.

Lutein and zeaxanthin can help prevent macular degeneration. Apart from this, eggs can also enhance brain development along with memory.

Some eggs can be enhanced with Omega-3. Omega-3 is anti-inflammatory in nature. It has vitamin E which can act as an antioxidant too. Apart from this, it can also contain vitamin D. Selenium and iodine are other nutrients present in eggs. 

The protein present in eggs can provide satiety and enhance muscles. However, eggs are also high in cholesterol so individuals suffering from cholesterol have to consume eggs in moderation.

Are eggs meat?

No, eggs are not considered meat. This is because there is no animal flesh present in eggs. Eggs are not fertilized which means that it is not a living matter. Eggs are fed to nourish baby chicks.

Before eggs are sold, they are candled to look for developing chickens or any other weird matter in eggs. 

Secondly, eggs are refrigerated which can prevent the growth of any developing chick. Apart from this, a rooster is technically required to fertilize eggs. As a result, eggs do not contain any flesh of animals which does not make them meat.

Can eggs be called poultry?

No, eggs cannot be called poultry. This is because poultry refers to the meat of birds. As eggs are not meat, they cannot be called poultry. The meat of birds like chicken, turkey, ducks, quails, pigeons, etc can be called poultry.

Conclusion

In this brief article, we have answered the question, “Are eggs dairy?” and provided information on why eggs are grouped with dairy, whether lactose intolerant individuals can eat eggs, why eggs are marked as Pareve, some benefits of eating eggs, and whether eggs are meat.

Reference

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/are-eggs-dairy

https://www.webmd.com/diet/features/good-eggs-for-nutrition-theyre-hard-to-beat

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment